I Just Moved For The 19th Time

It just happened again. I moved all of my possessions from one place to another, for the 19th time in my life. (I’m in my early twenties.) I’m so glad to be done, and *almost* settled in. But each time I go through moving, it actually gets a little easier.

How do you feel about the moving process?

We all know it can be overwhelming. But, if you flip your perspective and look at the positive elements of moving, it can become a whole new experience that adds value to and enriches your life.

IMG_6358

If you are someone like me, I actually find the moving process the perfect time to recycle and renew. It like to see all that I’ve accumulated over the period of time that I’ve lived in my current situation. Here’s how you can do it:

  • Before you pack up a box, gather your items and really take an honest look at them before you pack them.
  • Ask yourself- is this something that I really like? Does it serve a purpose (and a special memory or a good feeling counts as purpose)? Is it worth the expense to move it? Would it serve better for someone else?

We tend to hold on to a lot of stuff that really would serve a better purpose for someone else. I know this true for myself. I used to have a collection of items that numbered into the 200’s. I toted my collection multiple times. I finally grew tired of it when I realized that the collection never even made it out from under my bed. It wasn’t bringing me joy anymore. It was becoming a storage problem. It was time to let it go. I selected my favorite two items as lovely keepsakes and let the rest go. I felt so free. That’s a pretty amazing thing to feel. I love the idea of recycling things to make others happy and in doing so renewing my soul.

“Letting go gives us freedom, and freedom is the only condition for happiness. If, in our heart, we still cling to anything – anger, anxiety, or possessions – we cannot be free.”― Thich Nhat Hanh, The Heart of the Buddha’s Teaching: Transforming Suffering into Peace, Joy, and Liberation

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/437734-letting-go-gives-us-freedom-and-freedom-is-the-only

Leave a Reply

